· Comments Closed · Renault

Groupe Renault is a French multinational automobile manufacturer founded in 1899. The company produces a variety of cars and trucks, and in the past produced trucks, tractors, tanks, buses, coaches and diesel train cars. In 2013, Renault was the eleventh largest automaker in the world by production volume, with 50.5% of sales come from outside Europe. The Renault Alliance is the fourth-largest automotive group.

Headquartered in Boulogne-Billancourt, near Paris, the Renault group comprises the namesake Renault brand and subsidiaries, Automobile Dacia of Romania, and Renault Samsung Motors in South Korea. Renault has a 43.4% controlling stake in Nissan of Japan, a 37% stake indirectly owned in AvtoVAZ of Russia, and a 1.55% stake in Daimler Germany. Renault also owns subsidiaries RCI Bank, Renault Retail Group, and Motrin. Renault has several joint ventures, including Oyak Renault, Renault Pars. Carlos Ghosn, the current chairman, and chief executive. The French government owns a share 19.73% of Renault as of April 2015.

Renault Trucks, formerly known as Renault Vehicles industries, is part of Volvo Trucks since 2001. Renault Agriculture 100% owned by the German agricultural equipment manufacturer Claas in 2008.
Together Renault and Nissan invest €4000000000 (US$5.16 billion) in eight electric vehicles over three to four years beginning in 2011. In 2013, a new Renault vehicles have the lowest average CO2 under generic brands in Europe, with 110.1g/km. Renault is known for his role in motorsport, especially rallying, Formula 1 and Formula E. His early work on mathematical curve models for car bodies is important in the history of computer graphics.

The Renault corporation was founded in 1899 as Société Renault Frères by Louis Renault and his brothers Marcel and Fernand. Louis was a bright, aspiring young engineer who has designed and built a few prototypes to work with his brothers, who had honed their business skills working for their father’s textile firm. While Louis handled design and production, Marcel and Fernand manage the business. The first Renault car, the Renault Voiturette 1CV, was sold to a friend of father Louis after giving him a test ride on December 24, 1898.

Renault Formula 1

Renault turbo engine to Formula One when their first car, the Renault RS01 debuted at Silverstone in 1977. The Renault team continued until 1986. From 1989 Renault supplies engines to the successful Williams-Renault car. Renault won the team over the Benetton Formula team in 2000 for the 2001 season and renamed it Renault F1 in 2002. In 2005 and 2006 the constructors’ championship and Drivers title. At the 2005 French Grand Prix Carlos Ghosn set out his policy regarding the company’s involvement in motorsports:

Renault Rallies

Renault is involved in rallying from an early age. Marcel Renault, the 1902 Rallye Paris-Vienna, but lost his life while competing in the 1903 Paris-Madrid rally. During the 1950s and 1960s, Renault has produced several small cars with rear wheel drive, in some cases, such as the 4CV, the R8 or the Dauphine. These cars were well adapted to the rally of the season, and the receiver Amédée Gordini with its performance. In the 1950s, the Renault Dauphine, several international events, including the 1956 Mille Miglia and the 1958 Monte Carlo Rally. In 1973, Renault took control of Auto Alpine, a related company for a few years, who were responsible for building successful rally cars such as the A110. A highly developed A110, the first World Rally Championship, which Alpine-Renault.

Renault Corporate Management

Renault’s headquarters in Boulogne-Billancourt. The head office is located near the old Renault factories; Renault has a historical presence maintained in Boulogne-Billancourt since the company’s opening in 1898, Renault administered by a board of directors, an executive committee and a management committee.

Renault Logo Vector 2015

Renault Logo Vector 2015

From May 2014, members of the 19-seat council include Carlos Ghosn, Alain J. P. Belda, Charles de Croisset, Thierry Desmarest, Yuriko Koike, Marc Ladreit the Lacharrière, Franck Riboud and Pascale Sourisse.